Experiencing the Triple Crown hiking trails in the US

Experiencing the Triple Crown hiking trails in the US home
If you want to drench yourself in iconic natural beauty, then there is no better way than hiking. In the US, there are several great walks and diverse hiking trails that bring you closest to nature. We are going to tell you about the Triple Crown hiking trails in the US which is most popular amongest tourist who love outdoor adventure.

What is Triple Crown Hiking trail?

The Triple Crown hiking trail refers to three hiking trails- the Pacific Crest Trail, the Appalachian Trail and the Continental Divide trail. The total length of Triple Crown hiking trail is 7,900 miles. If you plan to go for this hiking trail, you will be visiting around 22 states in the US.

The Pacific Crest Trail

The Pacific Crest Trail

It is a wild scenic pathway that stretches between Mexico to Canada. The total distance covered in the Pacific Crest Trail is around 2654 miles. The trail is beautiful and challenging. While traveling from Mexico to Canada, you pass through states like Oregon, California and Washington. The Pacific Crest trail takes you through different landscapes where you can see the beauty of glaciated Sierra Nevada Mountains unfolding. The trail also gives you unique opportunity to travel through large expanses of desert and explore the volcanic peaks in the Cascade Range.

The Appalachian Trail

The Appalachian Trail

Simply known as A.T, the Appalachian Trail is famous hiking trail in the eastern United States that extends from Springer Mountain in Georgia to Mount Katahdin in Maine. The trail spans over 2200 miles and passes through more than 10 states that includes Georgia, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, New York, Tennessee, Maryland, Virginia, New Jersey, Massachusetts, West Virginia, Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Maine. The A.T trail is home to many exotic animals and plant species.

The Continental Divide trail

The Continental Divide trail

The Continental Divide Trail stretches over 3100 miles between Mexico and Canada. The trail passes through five different states that include Colorado, Montana, Wyoming, Idaho, and New Mexico. Also known as CDT, the trail passes through wildest and highest mountain of Colorado and around 650 miles of the trail passes through higher altitudes. The Grays Peak is the highest summit on the CDT.

Where to stay?

Though, you will stay most of the times in wild, you might consider staying in a comfortable hotel at the end of the hiking trip to get rejuvenated. Depending on the hiking trail you take, you might be required to stay in any state that falls on the trail. There are several cheap hotels online. Before booking traveler hotels, check traveler reviews online to get best deals.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nice post! Great information, I’m willing to hike the AT someday.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s